Skip to content

For immediate release: January 27, 2009

Murphy Appointed to Dallas Fed’s Houston Branch Board

DALLAS—The Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas has appointed Paul B. Murphy Jr. of Houston to the Dallas Fed’s Houston Branch board of directors for a term ending Dec. 31, 2011.

Murphy is CEO of Amegy Bank of Texas, which he helped establish in 1990.  Prior to joining Amegy, he worked for Allied Bank of Texas/First Interstate Bank.

Murphy is a board member of the Houston Endowment and a member of the Governor’s Business Council. He also serves on the boards of St. Luke’s Episcopal Health Care System, Kinkaid School, Children’s Museum of Houston, Mississippi State University Foundation and Greater Houston Community Foundation.

He holds a bachelor’s degree from Mississippi State University and master’s degree in business administration from the University of Texas at Austin.

The Dallas Fed’s Houston Branch board consists of seven members, four appointed by the Dallas Fed board and three by the Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Dallas Fed, visit


Media contact:
James Hoard
Phone: (214) 922-5307